Phonics is taught in a series of 6 phases throughout the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) and Key Stage 1 of school. It is through these phases that pupils will learn how the formation of letters and sounds build the speaking and listening skills. The phonics programme sets out a detailed and structured plan for teaching. Also, it is part of the learning structure and equips pupils with the necessary knowledge and understanding to eventually read fluently and spell accurately by the end of Year 2.

What are phases?
Phases are the process where letters and sounds are simplified, in such a way that sound are taught in a specific order. Pupils will learn that not all whole words can be simplified so easily, which is referred to as “tricky words”. The tricky words do not usually fit in the usual spelling patterns.

Phase One – Nursery/Reception
Phase Two – Reception (up to 6 weeks)
Phase Three – Reception (up to 12 weeks)
Phase Four – Reception (4 to 6 weeks)
Phase Five – Year 1
Phase Six – Year 2 and beyond 

What are High Frequency words?
High Frequency words otherwise known as common words are frequently recurrent in written text read by our pupils and needed when they begin writing. Our pupils receive a booklet that provide them with High Frequency words from the different Phases of the phonics programme. Pupils are given words weekly to learn and spell.

Please visit the site below for further information:

Share by: